Skip to main content

Lions to add three Legends to Pride of the Lions

DETROIT – The Detroit Lions announced today that they will be inducting three Legends into the Pride of the Lions during the halftime ceremony of their Homecoming game against the Seattle Seahawks October 28. Pride of the Lions is a permanent display at Ford Field honoring the greatest players in franchise history.

"Mrs. Ford, her family and the Detroit Lions organization are very excited to be recognizing three more of the best players to ever wear Honolulu blue and silver," said Detroit Lions Team President Rod Wood. "Roger Brown, Alex Karras and Herman Moore each exemplified what it meant to be a Detroit Lion in their own unique way as players and teammates. All three of them are befitting of the greatest individual honor our organization can give to a Lions Legend."

Brown, Karras and Moore will join 15 other all-time Lions greats featured on Pride of the Lions which was first unveiled in 2009. Other members include: CB Lem Barney, S Jack Christiansen, QB Dutch Clark, OL Lou Creekmur, K Jason Hanson, CB Dick "Night Train" Lane, S Yale Lary, QB Bobby Layne, CB Dick LeBeau, RB Barry Sanders, TE Charlie Sanders, LB Joe Schmidt, G Dick Stanfel, RB Doak Walker and OL Alex Wojciechowicz.



  • Drafted by the Lions in the fourth round (42nd overall) of the 1960 Draft out of Maryland-Eastern Shore.
  • Spent seven seasons (1960-66) of his 10-year NFL career with Detroit before finishing with the Rams (1967-69).
  • Earned Pro-Bowl honors five consecutive seasons (1962-66) while with Detroit and was a two-time First Team Associated Press All-Pro (1962-63).


  • Karras played his entire 12-year career (1958-70) with the Lions after originally joining the club as a first-round selection (10th overall) in the 1958 NFL Draft out of Iowa. He appeared in 161 career games, and his 12 career seasons are tied for 10th in Lions history.
  • With the Lions, Karras was named Associated Press First Team All-Pro from 1960-62 and in 1965. In 1967 he was named to the All-Decade Team of the 1960s by the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
  • Karras was named to the Lions 75th Season All-Time Team in 2008.
  • Starred as himself in the 1968 film Paper Lion.


  • Moore, who played in 145 games (122 starts) for the Lions from 1991-2001, retired as the franchise leader in receptions (670), receiving yards (9,174) and receiving touchdowns (62) and currently ranks second in all categories.
  • Moore set the then NFL record for receptions in a season with 123 catches and is the only player in Lions history to have more than 100 receptions in three seasons. He was also the second player in NFL history with three straight seasons with 100 or more receptions.
  • Originally joined the Lions as a first-round selection (10th overall) in the 1991 NFL Draft out of Virginia.
  • Moore went on to lead the Lions to the postseason six times (1991, 1993-95, 1997, 1999) while earning four Pro Bowl berths (1994-97).
  • Moore was named to the Lions 75th Season All-Time Team in 2008.

Related Content