Kerry Hyder Jr. to receive Ed Block Courage Award

DETROIT — Detroit Lions DE Kerry Hyder Jr. will be honored as the Ed Block Courage Award recipient at the 25th annual Detroit Lions Courage House Dinner on Monday, October 29, 2018 at Ford Field. The dinner annually benefits HAVEN, Oakland County's center for the prevention and treatment of domestic violence and sexual assault. The dinner has raised more than $2.5 million for HAVEN over the last 24 years.

The Ed Block Courage Award annually goes to a Lions player who exemplifies sportsmanship and has overcome injury and/or adversity to excel on the field. Hyder began his NFL career in 2014 as an undrafted rookie free agent first signed to the New York Jets practice squad. He joined the Lions practice squad in 2015 and was signed to the active roster in 2016. During the 2016 season, Hyder led the team in sacks with 8.0 and continued his breakout year by totaling 36 tackles (23 solo), 11 tackles for loss and 19 QBH. During the first quarter of the first 2017 Lions preseason game, Hyder suffered an Achilles injury that sidelined him for the rest of the season. He returned from injury in 2018.

"Kerry's recovery from his season-ending injury last year was yet another challenge that he approached with his longstanding strong character, humility and work ethic," said Detroit Lions Head Athletic Trainer Kevin Bastin. "Kerry's professional attitude and spirit has not only allowed him to overcome hurdles in his career, but has also carried over into his personal life as a husband, father and community servant."

Previous Ed Block Award Recipients include: LB Ken Fantetti (1984), G/T Keith Dorney (1985), C Steve Mott (1986), CB Duane Galloway (1987), WR Carl Bland (1988), LB Jimmy Williams (1989), CB Bruce McNorton (1990), G Mike Utley (1991), G Ken Dallafior (1992) and C Kevin Glover (1993), LB Victor Jones (1994), WR Aubrey Matthews (1995), S Bennie Blades (1996), T Ray Roberts (1997), LB George Jamison (1998), DL Dan Owens (1999), DT James Jones (2000), QB Charlie Batch (2001), FB Cory Schlesinger (2002), DE Robert Porcher (2003), DE Jared DeVries (2004), LB Boss Bailey (2005), the late Lions' director of security Ricky Sandoval (2006), RB Kevin Jones (2007),  S Daniel Bullocks (2008), T Jeff Backus (2009), K Jason Hanson (2010), QB Shaun Hill (2011), RB Jahvid Best (2012), WR Nate Burleson (2013), WR Calvin Johnson (2014), RB Joique Bell (2015), QB Matthew Stafford (2016), RB Ameer Abdullah (2017).

Sean English, a heroic local teen and track athlete who lost his leg while being a Good Samaritan attempting to help teenagers in a rollover car accident on I-96 in 2017, will be presented with the Ricky Sandoval Award. The Ricky Sandoval Awardrecognizes individuals that have made contributions both in sports and in the community. The award is named in honor of the late Lions director of security who lost his battle with pancreatic cancer in July 2009.

Past Ricky Sandoval Award Recipients have been:

Steve Yzerman (2004), Roger Penske (2005), Jerome Bettis (2006), Charlie Sanders (2007), Lem Barney and Dave Bing (co-recipients in 2008), Mike Utley (2009), Eric Hipple (2010), Tim Pendell (2011), Doug English (2012), Kent Falb (2013), Dean Kleinschmidt (2014), Mitch Albom (2015), Lomas Brown (2016) and Mike Lucci (2017).

To purchase tickets or inquire about sponsoring the Lions' Courage House Dinner please visit or contact Sheela Manyam at 248.799.6668.

Related Content