Barry Sanders will go head-to-head with Adrian Peterson in Madden Cover finals

Posted Apr 17, 2013

The 2013 Madden cover comes down to arguably the greatest runner of all time vs. arguably the best runner in today's game

Barry Sanders (Detroit Lions)

The "old school" vs. "new school" competition for the 2013 Madden video game cover has come down to Barry Sanders and Adrian Peterson.

It almost seems fitting that one of the NFL's all-time dynamic running backs in Sanders will square off against today's most prolific runner in Peterson. It also pits two bitter NFC North rivals -- Lions and Vikings -- against one another.

Sanders defeated fellow Hall of Famer Jerry Rice in the semifinals.

"I can't believe I beat Jerry and won the Old School bracket," said Sanders. "I really want to thank the fans. This is for them. I'm also thankful to EA for creating a platform that really allows the fans to get involved.

"But man, now I have to face my favorite player in the game right now. That's going to be tough. I'm sure Adrian is everyones favorite. Voting starts now through next Wednesday."

Sanders and Rice went to Twitter almost immediately upon hearing they were squaring off in the semifinals last week.

Sanders (@BarrySanders) initially tweeted: Didn't think I would beat Montana on the #Madden25 vote. Thanks to all the fans! I'm coming for you @jerryrice

To which Rice retweeted with a simple reply: Game on!!! lol

Sanders dispatched of Rice in the fan voting, and has now torn through the likes of Ron Rivera, Marcus Allen, Ray Lewis, Joe Montana and Rice to reach the finals.

Adrian Peterson defeated Arian Foster in the semifinals and has easily breezed through Robert Griffin III, Rob Gronkowski and LeSean McCoy in the previous rounds of the "new school" side of the NCAA-style bracket format.

If Sanders wins, it will be the first time a single team would have a player on the cover of Madden in back-to-back years. Calvin Johnson was featured on the cover of last year's game.

The final round of voting will take place until April 24, when a winner will be announced.