Lions Announce 12-Member Pride of the Lions Charter Class

Posted Nov 22, 2009

Lions greats are all members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Photo Gallery

Allen Park, Mich. -- The Detroit Lions announced today the 12 members of the Pride of the Lions charter class. Those members include: CB Lem Barney (1967-77), S Jack Christiansen (1951-58), QB Dutch Clark (1934-38), OL Lou Creekmur (1950-59), CB Dick “Night Train” Lane (1960-65), S Yale Lary (1952-53, 1956-64), QB Bobby Layne (1950-58), RB Barry Sanders (1989-98), TE Charlie Sanders (1968-77), LB Joe Schmidt (1953-65), RB Doak Walker (1950-55) and OL Alex Wojciechowicz (1938-46).

The Lions will unveil the team’s Pride of the Lions, a permanent stadium display honoring the 12 of the greatest players in team history, during a celebration at halftime of today’s game at Ford Field against the Cleveland Browns.

The Pride of the Lions will be a very visible feature on the old Hudson’s warehouse of Ford Field (south suite levels) that will include the players’ jersey numbers, name and years played with the Lions. During today’s halftime ceremony, members of the Pride of the Lions charter class will be announced accompanied by photos and highlights of their careers. Upon the conclusion of the introduction, the names of the charter class will be simultaneously unveiled.


No. Name Pos. Years
20 Barney, Lem CB 1967-77
24 Christiansen, Jack* S 1951-58
7 Clark, Dutch* QB 1934-38
76 Creekmur, Lou* OL 1950-59
81 Lane, Dick “Night Train”* CB 1960-65
28 Lary, Yale S 1952-53, 56-64
22 Layne, Bobby* QB 1950-58
20 Sanders, Barry RB 1989-98
88 Sanders, Charlie TE 1968-77
56 Schmidt, Joe LB 1953-65
37 Walker, Doak* RB 1950-55
50 Wojciechowicz, Alex* OL 1938-46
* Deceased