Posted Oct 7, 2010

LeBeau to join team’s “Pride of the Lions” and receive Pro Football Hall of Fame Ring

Allen Park, Mich.—The Detroit Lions will honor Pro Football Hall of Fame CB Dick LeBeau during the team’s halftime Alumni Day festivities this Sunday (October 10) against the St. Louis Rams at Ford Field. The ceremony includes LeBeau’s induction into the Pride of the Lions, the Lions’ permanent display at Ford Field honoring the greatest players in franchise history, and the presentation of his Hall of Fame ring by Stephen A. Perry, president/executive director of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

"Dick is one of the greatest defensive players in the history of the Lions,” said Lions President Tom Lewand. “He not only excelled as a cornerback but his durability at that position is nearly unmatched in League history. Dick was an invaluable contributor to some of the franchise’s greatest defensive units that were put on the field during his career. It was an honor to include him on our All-Time Team, and his induction into the Hall of Fame was well deserved. We are excited to now place him with the other Lions’ greats already included in the Pride of the Lions."

LeBeau becomes the 13th member of the Pride of the Lions and he joins the 12-member charter class that was unveiled in 2009. He is the Lions’ all-time leader in interceptions (62) and NFL record holder for consecutive games played by a cornerback (171), LeBeau was enshrined as a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2010. He became the 18th player in Lions’ history voted into the Hall of Fame. He was also named to the Lions 75th Season All-Time Team in 2008.

Well-known for his ability to anticipate and break on the ball, LeBeau recorded 62 interceptions for 762 yards and three touchdowns during his career. His 62 picks are the most by a player in Lions history, and they are tied for seventh all-time in NFL history. The 762 interception return yards ranks third all-time in team history.

He not only was productive in picking off opponent passers, but LeBeau was one of the most durable players in team history. From 1959-72, he played in 185 games which is fourth all-time in team history, and he is third all-time for the most seasons played (14). LeBeau holds the NFL record for consecutive games played by a cornerback with 171. During his career, he earned three trips to the Pro Bowl from 1965-67.

In 1970, LeBeau established a career-high nine interceptions, which are tied for sixth on the team’s all-time single-season interceptions list. He was a major defensive contributor to the Lions finishing with a 10-4 record that season. The Lions finished second in the NFC Central and earned a berth in the playoffs. LeBeau was acquired by the Lions as a free agent after being released by Cleveland in training camp prior to his rookie season. LeBeau was drafted by the Browns in the fifth round of the 1959 NFL Draft out of Ohio State, and, while in college, he was a member of the Buckeyes’ 1956 National Championship team.

LeBeau is the only player in team history to record two defensive touchdowns in the same game. He did so when returned a fumble 26 yards and an interception 31 yards for scores vs. Minnesota December 9, 1962.

Lions Alumni Day

The Lions will host more than 40 of its former players this Sunday as part of the annual Lions Alumni Day festivities. Alumni Day includes: brunch at the Westin Book Cadillac Detroit for the Lions’ Alumni prior to the game, tickets, bus transportation to the game and halftime introduction.

A tentative list of attendees at Sunday’s game includes: Lem Barney (CB, 1967-77); Bradford Banta (LS, 2001-2004); Tom Beer (LB, 1994-96); Luther Blue (WR, 1977-79); Russ Bollinger (G, 1976-82); Luther Bradley (CB, 1978-81); Roger Brown (T, 1960-66); Ken Callicutt (RB, 1978-82); Ernie Clark (LB, 1963-67); Scott Conover (OL, 1991-96); Ken Dallafior (G, 1989-92); Dorne Dibble (E, 1951, 1953-57); Mel Farr (RB, 1967-73); Sonny Gandee (E, 1952-56); William Gay (DE, 1978-87); Gene Hamlin (C, 1972); Maurice Harvey (DB, 1983, 87); Allen Hughes (DL, 1986-87); George Jamison (LB, 1987-93, 1997-98); Shawn Jefferson (WR, 2003); Levi Johnson (DB, 1973-77); Horace King (RB, 1975-83); Scott Kowalkowski (LB, 1994-2001); Greg Landry (QB, 1968-78); Mike Lucci (LB, 1965-73); Eric Lynch (RB, 1992-96); Bruce McNorton (DB, 1982-90); Herman Moore (WR, 1991-01); Tom Nowatzke (FB, 1965-69); Rudy Redmond (DB, 1972-73); Ron Rice (S, 1995-2001); Rob Rubick (TE, 1982-88); Jerry Rush (DT, 1965-71); Ken Russell (T, 1957-59); Charlie Sanders (TE, 1968-77); Daryl Sanders (T, 1963-66); Freddie Scott (WR, 1978-83); Joe Schmidt (LB, 1953-65); John Sokolosky (C, 1978); Eric Stocz (TE, 1996-97); Barry Stokes (OL, 2006-07); Bobby Thompson (RB, 1975-76); Jim Thrower (DB, 1973-75); Wally Triplett (B, 1949-50); Tim Walton (LB, 1989); Mike Weger (DB, 1967-75); Sheldon White (CB, 1990-92); William White (S, 1988-93); Sam Williams (DE, 1960-65); Roger Zatkoff (G, 1957-58).